Extra storage in the garage!

So pinterest is a terrible evil that has stolen countless hours of my life…but it does have some good ideas on it.  This is my take on the storage idea found here:

Sliding Storage

First, I had to find some storage bins.  We just got them from Target, making sure they had robust edges that could hold the weight of the full bins.  Then I got 2x4s and 2x6s, some 90 degree brackets, a mess of screws, and some monster 4″ screws with matching washers.

I measured enough wood to make two rows of two bins each (3 rows of wood to hold 2 rows of bins).  Each row of wood required 2 2x4s and a 2×6.  It is quite important that the wood be unwarped since they get screwed together.

Any old screw lying around will do, this is not load bearing once the project is done.

Countersink by drilling a shallow hole wider than the head of the screw.

Countersink by drilling a shallow hole wider than the head of the screw.

1) I used 3 screws in each set of 2 2x4s to hold them together during the next steps.

2) I laid the 2x4s on the 2x6s and carefully centered them, leaving an inch on either edge.  Then I drew an outline of the 2x4s on the 2×6 so I would know where to place the brackets.

Toward the outside would hang over--putting a damper on hanging bins.

Toward the outside would hang over–putting a damper on sliding bins.

I was really careful to line up with the outline, the 2x4s had to fit perfectly.

I was really careful to line up with the outline, the 2x4s had to fit perfectly.

3a) After putting two brackets on both sides, I made sure the 2x4s fit and moved on to mounting them in the ceiling.  I used a larger spade bit to countersink the bolt and washer into the 2×4, since that is the side to which the 2×6 will attach.  Then I used a smaller spade bit to drill the rest of the way through the pair of 2x4s so the bolt just slid through.  I did step 3b at the same time, so I would know where to put these holes in the 2x4s.

Handy trick, put tape on a bit so you know how deep you need to go when drilling.

Handy trick, put tape on a bit so you know how deep you need to go when drilling.

Now the bolts sit below the surface of the 2x4s.

Now the bolts sit below the surface of the 2x4s.

3b) “Next” up is finding the joists that will hold the 2x4s.  I use magnets to find studs or joists under drywall.  I just hunt around until the magnet sticks to one of the screws holding the drywall in (and that pretty much has to be into a bit of the frame).  I know that stud finders are super-cool, but magnets are cheaper (even the strong neodymium ones) and I have always thought that stud finders are too finicky. Once I located the joists, I measured the distance between them so that I could line up the holes in the 2x4s.  I also drilled pilot holes into the joists so the rather large screws wouldn’t split them.

4) After getting everything lined up, I used a ratchet to screw the 2x4s to the ceiling.

5) Once the 2x4s were installed, Kendra held up the 2x6s while I screwed the brackets onto the 2x4s.

I used deck screws to mount the brackets.

I used deck screws to mount the brackets.

6)  This was the tricky step.  I measured the width of the bins and calculated the distance between the centers of the 2x4s.  After measuring again…then a third time just to be safe (I subscribe to the axiom “measure 3 or more times, cut once”), I repeated steps 1-5 for the other two sets of beams.

7) Once the beams were all installed, it was time to see if the bins fit.

All three up and ready.

All three up and ready.

Math works!  No one was more surprised than I when they slid in perfectly.

Math works! No one was more surprised than I when they slid in perfectly.

Now all the Christmas decorations have a home and aren’t taking up all the shelves in the laundry room!

2 responses to “Extra storage in the garage!

  1. Pingback: O. M. Garage! | The Joken Chronicles·

Leave a Reply

